University nuhelot'ine taiyots'i nistameyimakanak Blue Quills

Blue Quills logo

We have been a locally controlled Indigenous education centre since 1970 located in Treaty Six Territory and we became a university in September 2015.

We have served the academic and training needs of people of all cultures and encourage everyone to experience this unique socio-cultural and academic environment.

As an Indigenous non-profit educational institution, a prime objective is to promote a sense of pride in Indigenous heritage and reclaim traditional knowledge and practices.

UnBQ is governed by seven appointed board members, each representing one of the seven local First Nations communities: Beaver Lake, Cold Lake, Frog Lake, Whitefish Lake, Heart Lake, Kehewin, and Saddle Lake with an additional Elder from Saddle Lake Cree Nation.